Milestones in May

All of the events and activities of spring are winding down to make room for the fast-approaching relaxing days of summer. It’s a time for celebrating many milestones for my family, and I’m grateful for each and every one of them.

Another Kentucky Derby in the Books

The state of Kentucky gets many visitors this time of year. Everyone dresses up in their brightly-colored outfits and Derby hats to attend endless parties and celebrate the Run for the Roses. We have a more relaxed approach to celebrating the Kentucky Derby in my family. The kids and grand kids all come over for a cookout while we watch the horse races on television. The grand kids sometimes make paper roses or homemade Derby hats. Everyone picks their favorite horses to win each race. Whoever has the most winners at the end of the day wins a prize! I love days like this one, when we all just have fun relaxing and acting silly. We added a little bit of Red Nose fun to this year’s Derby Day events, as well.

 

The Youngest is One!

We celebrated our youngest grandson’s first birthday this May, with a “Brown Bear, Brown Bear” party theme. It’s our favorite Eric Carle book. We had a birthday brunch, complete with a food item for each of the animals in the book – Brown Bear bacon, Yellow Duck eggs, Green Frog veggies, Red Bird berries – well, you get the picture.  The past year sure has flown by, and this little one is now flying all over the place, ready to be a “big guy!” He is such a blessing in our lives.

Celebrating Moms

May always means Mothers’ Day, and we have many moms to celebrate in our family. I’m grateful for the time I had with my mom and mother-in-law before they passed on. I’m grateful for the opportunity to be a mom to my beautiful kids, and I’m grateful for the awesome mother that my daughter-in-law is to my grandchildren. Raising four very young children is not an easy task, but she does it beautifully.

Graduation Time

We celebrated our granddaughter’s Kindergarten Graduation this May. They all looked so adorable in their caps and gowns. She has grown and learned so much in the past year. I look forward to watching her future unfold.

Strawberry Overload

One of my favorite things about the month of May is the abundance of fresh strawberries! There is simply nothing sweeter or juicier than fresh-picked strawberries. I can’t get enough of them. I make a trip to Bray’s Orchard, in Bedford, KY, as often as possible during Strawberry season, just so I can load up on them, because they are gone too soon!

IMG_4194

Another Trip Around the Sun

I turned 57 this May. It is sometimes hard to wrap my head around that number. But it has been 57 years of many blessings. I can’t wait to see what the next year of my life brings to me.

Leave a Reply

